

NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

OFFICE OF THE CHIEF WHIP OF THE OPPOSITION

PO Box 15 Cape Town 8000 Republic of South Africa Tel: +27 (21) 403-3372, Fax: +27 (086) 724 6398 e-mail: dawhip@da.org.za

Hon B Mbete MP Speaker of the National Assembly Parliament of the Republic of South Africa P.O. Box 15 Cape Town 8000

22 March 2019

Dear Madam Speaker,

URGENT CALL FOR ESTABLISHMENT OF AD HOC JOINT COMMITTEE ON ESKOM

On behalf of the Democratic Alliance, in light of Eskom entered Stage 4 loadshedding which has already cost the South African economy an estimated R12 billion in three days and is placing an extensive burden on the economy, I hereby urgently call for Parliament to remain in session, and for the National Assembly ("NA") to establish an Ad Hoc Committee on Eskom in terms of Rule 253 of the Rules of the National Assembly ("the Rules") consisting of the NA Portfolio Committees on Energy, Public Enterprises, and Trade and Industry. (Please see attached Draft Resolution)

Rule 253 reads,

"An ad hoc committee may be established—

- (a) by resolution of the Assembly; or
- (b) during the adjournment of the Assembly for a period of more than 14 days, by the Speaker after consulting the Chief Whip and the most senior whip of each of the other parties."

The purpose of this Ad Hoc Committee would be to urgently –

- 1. enquire into the circumstances surrounding the potentially imminent threat of the collapse of the national energy grid;
- 2. invite experts and industry stakeholders for input;
- 3. summons the relevant officials and Ministers to account for the current crisis and provide evidence for actions previously taken to prevent the current situation;
- 4. deliberate and resolve to implement solutions to prevent the potentially imminent collapse of the national energy grid, and put recommendations forward to the NA to consider; and
- 5. move for any urgent, necessary legislative amendments to existing legislation and regulations to deal with the potentially imminent threat of the collapse of the national energy grid and the threat it poses to the national economy.

Further, we propose that this committee consists of 11 members, constituted as follows:

- 1. 11 members in total from the NA Portfolio Committees on Energy, Public Enterprises, and Trade and Industry, as follows:
 - a. ANC 6, DA 3, EFF 1 and other parties 1.

Further, we propose that the aforesaid proposed committee accordingly report to the NA by 18 April 2019 on the above matters.

Furthermore, we request that you urgently schedule this motion for consideration in the NA by Tuesday, 26 March 2019 to deal with the above-mentioned issues.

I look forward to your consideration of this urgent request and your favorable response.

Yours faithfully,

John Steenhuisen MP

Chief Whip of the Official Opposition

Parliament of RSA